Relive RLIR 2020Updated 466 days ago

Protest

Case 1
Full Decision

  Race 1 – 7th January 2020 Racing
Protestor THA72
Protestees Team Hollywood
Validity
  1. Objection to Jury: No
  2. Within Time Limit: Within Time Limit
    Submitted 2.12pm PTL 2.13pm
  3. Incident Identified: Yes
    THA72 claims: THA72 on port , AUS8888 on starboard. AUS8888tacked in THA72’s water in Race 1
  4. Proper Hail: Protest hailed
    Immediately
  5. Red Flag Displayed: Yes
    Immediately
  6. DECISION: Request Valid
Facts Found
  1. Wind was 10 to 12 knots with white caps.2.
  2. THA72 was on Port tack and AUS8888 on starboard tack, both sailing close hauled on the first leg and on a collision course.
  3. At about 1.5 boat lengths between them, AUS8888 tacked to port.4.
  4. THA72 took avoiding action by bearing away and passed close to the transom of AUS8888 before AUS8888 completed her tack.
Conclusions And Rules That Apply After passing head to wind and before being on a close-hauled course, AUS8888 failed to keep clear of THA72, and broke RRS 13.
Decision AUS8888 is DSQ in Race 1

Date & Time: 2020-01-07 16:02 +08

Chaired By: Leonard Chin (MAS)
Committee Members: Say Chu (MAS), Iwan NGantung (INA), Tee Suan Tan (SGP), Lock Kit (SGP)

Case 2
Full Decision

  Race 3 – 8th January 2020 Club Cruising
Protestor Marikh
Protestees VG Offshore
Validity
  1. Objection to Jury: No
  2. Within Time Limit: Beyond with Good Reason
    60 minutes from AP over A is 1301h . Form received1331h. Extended with good reason due to distance ofrace course from RLYC.
  3. Incident Identified: Yes
    Extract from filled form: VG offshore on port and Marikhon starboard. Hailed starboard 3x and that VG Offshoretacked too late. Marikh crashed tacked and broke theirtiller in the process. Marikh protested but VG Offshorefailed to exonerate.
  4. Proper Hail: Protest hailed
  5. Red Flag Displayed: No
    Boat intending to protest had a broken tiller as a result ofthe crash tack and had no steerage until jury rigged.
  6. DECISION: Request Valid
Facts Found
  1. Wind was more than 12 knots and the sea state was very choppy.
  2. On the first leg to Mark 1 in Race 3, Marikh was on starboard and VG Offshore on port, both close hauled, travelling at 6knots and on a collision course.
  3. When the boats were about half a boat length apart, Marikh crash tacked to avoid collision.
  4. VG Offshore also tacked immediately after.
  5. There was no contact, but one of the crew members of Marikh suffered a slight injury as a consequence of the incident.
  6. No boats took any penalty turns.
  7. Marikh jury rigged her tiller and then raised the red protest flag about 5 minutes later after regaining steerage
Conclusions And Rules That Apply
  1. VG Offshore on port failed to keep clear of Marikh on starboard, and broke RRS 10
  2. Marikh had genuine apprehension about whether VG Offshore was going to keep clear and took evasive action by carrying out a crash tackand is protected under Case 50.
Decision VG Offsore is DSQ in Race 3

Date & Time: 2020-01-08 15:25 +08

Chaired By: Leonard Chin (MAS)
Committee Members: Say Chu (MAS), Iwan NGantung (INA), Tee Suan Tan (SGP), Lock Kit (SGP)

RLIR news / subscribe to receive daily updates