Relive RLIR 2020Updated 466 days ago

Multihull And Club Class Entries Bank On Experience Against Newbies

LANGKAWI (30 December 2015) – The 14th Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) 2016 will take place from 11 to 16 January 2016 and so far, 32 yachts have registered their entries. Malaysia leads the pack with thirteen entries, followed by seven from Australia, two each from Great Britain and Thailand, and one each from China, Denmark, France, Hong Kong, Japan,Russia and Singapore.

Of the 32, some of the most experienced are skippers of the Multihull and Club Class entries.

Grenville Fordham who has skippered his multihull at five previous RLIRs will be looking to defend his 2015 title in IMAGE asia NINA against Manta Blu and the newly-launched Allegro.

In the Club Class, Rascal is entered in its 8th RLIR with Gavin Welman at the helm and, one of
the most experienced sailors when it comes to navigating Langkawi waters is Henning Lenz
racing in his 12 th RLIR in My Toy.

The Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC) Rear Commodore/RLIR 2016 Organising Chairperson,
Tunku Soraya said, “After 13 years of witnessing some amazing yachts in action, I can see how
the uniqueness of sailing in Langkawi waters keeps the sailors coming back year after year. The
challenges of sailing here as well as the beauty of the surroundings are hard to resist for all
types of boats.”

Aside from Allegro, the other new entries expected to show their mettle are Sport Boats Team
RLYC and Muara Watersports Malaysia Racing Team; and Alive, Emagine, Foreign Affair and
Trader in the IRC Class.

Also new this year is the RLIR IRC 2 Challenge Trophy, adding to the other five challenge
trophies of the competition.

The teams in RLIR 2016 will compete for the Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy – for Racing
Class yachts; the Commodore’s Challenge Cup – for participants of club-registered cruisers; the
LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy – for participants in the IRC 1 Class; RLIR IRC 2 Challenge Trophy –  for participants in the IRC 2 Class; the Langkawi Sports Trophy – for participants in the Sports
Boat Class and the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup – for participants in the Multihull

Another trophy that sets the RLIR apart from other regattas is the Tunku Abdullah
Sportsmanship Award, presented in memory of the late Founding Chairman and the first
Commodore of the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC), Almarhum Tunku Tan Sri Abdullah
Tuanku Abdul Rahman. Voted by the participants, it is awarded to a team for competitiveness,
fair racing and comradeship, on water and land, and was won in 2015 by Grenville Fordham and
his crew.

Media Partners are SEA Yachting, SAIL-WORLD, HOMME, YACHT Style, IMAGE asia,
TRAXXfm Radio & RTM, and Spectrum Outdoor Marketing.

The Royal Langkawi International Regatta (RLIR) 2016 is organised by the Royal Langkawi Yacht
Club (RLYC) and sanctioned by the ISAF and Malaysian Sailing Association (MSA), and supported
by the Ministry of Youth and Sports, Malaysia. The RLIR is part of the Asian Yachting Circuit.

For more information on the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club, kindly visit our website at or contact Wicky Sundram at [email protected]. Inquiries  pertaining to RLIR 2016, kindly contact the Regatta Secretariat at [email protected].

RLIR news / subscribe to receive daily updates