Relive RLIR 2020Updated 468 days ago

Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2011

The Royal Langkawi Yacht Club (RLYC) in Kuah, Langkawi is inviting participants to register for the Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2011 (RLIR 2011).

The RLIR 2011 will be held from 11th to 15th January 2011. Race will commence from 12 to 15 January 2011 at Langkawi. The event will see five categories of racing namely the Racing class, IRC class, Sportsboats, Multihulls and Club Cruisers.

Weather conditions in Langkawi are expected to be ideal for the regatta with strong winds and clear skies anticipated in the month of January.

Weather forecasts predict wind speeds of more than 12 knots for the period and participants can look forward to a very challenging 4-day sailing experience, one day less than the usual 5-day race from previous regattas.

The secretariat will maintain the round-the-island race due to its popularity among the participants as well as the usual windward/leeward race courses. The organising team is working hard to ensure the courses for RLIR 2011 will be of nautical challenge.

Langkawi is ideally located in the north-western coast of Malaysia and it is also known as a land of myths and legends, with much of its folklore intricately woven into its history.
The warm and clear waters surrounding the legendary islands of Langkawi are an additional bonus for sailors and cruising yachtsmen.

As has been the tradition every year, fun does not end with the races, the RLIR 2011 organising team is promising daily, fun-filled prize giving parties.

The RLIR 2011 is the ninth (9th) regatta to be held by the RLYC consecutively since the inaugural event in 2003. Already part of the Asian Regatta Calendar, the event has for the last eight years been drawing regular boats as well as new participants who actively race in regional yacht circuits. At any one time, the regatta sees a participation of between 30 to 60 boats.

Many of the multihulls, racing yachts and sports boats from around the globe and regular competitors of the RLIR are expected to return for our coming race. Entries from Australia, Hong Kong, Holland, United Kingdom, United States of America, Singapore, Thailand, China, Japan, Germany, Switzerland, New Zealand, France, Belgium and South Korea have been confirmed.

Familiar names to the regatta like Ray Roberts, Frank Pong, Vincent Chan, Simon Piff and Neils Dengenkolw have also confirmed their entries.

Teams participating in the RLIR 2011 will compete for the Prime Minister’s Challenge Trophy (for participants of internationally registered yachts), the Commodore’s Challenge Cup (for participants of club-registered cruisers), “LADA-IRC Challenge Trophy” (for participants of the IRC Class), Langkawi Sports Trophy (for participants in the Sports Boat Class) and the Malaysian Multihull Challenge Cup (for participants under the Multihulls category).

In RLIR 2009, the RLIR introduced the “Tunku Abdullah Sportsmanship” award for the best team, both on water and land. This award is a special tribute to the Founder Chairman and 1st Commodore of the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club, Almarhum Tunku Tan Sri Abdullah.

The award will be given out again this coming year and represents the values for which the late Tunku stood for. The winner will be chosen from nominations and votes from all participating teams in the regatta.

For further information, Race Schedule and Entry Form, kindly log on to or or contact En Zack at [email protected]

RLIR news / subscribe to receive daily updates