Relive RLIR 2020Updated 475 days ago

33 Teams For Langkawi International Regatta

Thirty-three yachts will take part in the Royal Langkawi International Regatta 2009 from tomorrow to Jan 10 at the Royal Langkawi Yacht Club here.

The number of participants was smaller but organising chairman Ahmad Zailani Bashah said it was to be expected due to the global economic slowdown.

“The number may be smaller this time around but it is sufficient,” he told reporters here.

The regatta would see participants competing in 11 categories from four main classes, namely racing class, racing class (IRC) 1, multihull racing class and club class.

Among the participants are three-time champions Quantum Racing from Australia and favourite Yo!2 team.

Zurah, a team from the Malaysian navy, will lead Malaysia’s challenge of 10 teams, including Mata Hari and a junior team from the Malaysian Yachting Association.

RLIR news / subscribe to receive daily updates